RFC 5212

Requirements for GMPLS-Based Multi-Region and Multi-Layer Networks (MRN/MLN), July 2008

File formats:
icon for text file icon for PDF icon for HTML
K. Shiomoto
D. Papadimitriou
JL. Le Roux
M. Vigoureux
D. Brungard
ccamp (rtg)

Cite this RFC: TXT  |  XML

DOI:  10.17487/RFC5212

Discuss this RFC: Send questions or comments to ccamp@ietf.org

Other actions: Submit Errata  |  Find IPR Disclosures from the IETF


Most of the initial efforts to utilize Generalized MPLS (GMPLS) have been related to environments hosting devices with a single switching capability. The complexity raised by the control of such data planes is similar to that seen in classical IP/MPLS networks. By extending MPLS to support multiple switching technologies, GMPLS provides a comprehensive framework for the control of a multi-layered network of either a single switching technology or multiple switching technologies.

In GMPLS, a switching technology domain defines a region, and a network of multiple switching types is referred to in this document as a multi-region network (MRN). When referring in general to a layered network, which may consist of either single or multiple regions, this document uses the term multi-layer network (MLN). This document defines a framework for GMPLS based multi-region / multi-layer networks and lists a set of functional requirements. This memo provides information for the Internet community.

For the definition of Status, see RFC 2026.

For the definition of Stream, see RFC 4844.

Download PDF Reader