Independent Submissions Editorial Board

The Independent Submissions Editorial Board (ISEB) provides reviews of
Independent Submissions and offers advice to the Independent Submissions
Editor (ISE). The volunteer ISEB exists at the pleasure of the ISE, and
the members serve at the pleasure of the ISE. This group meets at IETF
meetings, but most business is conducted by email.

The present composition of the board (in alphabetical order) is:

  • Harald Alvestrand
  • Scott Bradner
  • Nevil Brownlee
  • Brian Carpenter
  • Aaron Falk
  • Joel Halpern
  • Sue Hares
  • Bob Hinden
  • Ole Jacobsen
  • John Klensin
  • Subramanian Moonesamy (SM)
  • Kathleen Moriarty
  • Craig Partridge

The ISEB can be reached at This is a closed list: you can use it to contact the ISEB, but you cannot subscribe.

For background, the RFC Editorial Board was originally formed in September
2003 to provide a broad range of editorial advice on RFC Editor operation,
and in particular to provide substantial help with the task of reviewing
Independent Submissions. The general goal of that board was to help the
RFC Editor to maximize the quality and usefulness of the RFC series for
the present and future Internet community: that goal has since become the
domain of the RFC Series Advisory Group, while the task of reviewing
Independent Submissions has become the role of the ISEB.